Tags

, , , , ,

There’s a blog I love called Cupcakes & Cashmere | Elevate Everyday Life.. The person behind Cupcakes and Cashmere is Emily, an unconventionally pretty blonde who’s living the California lifestyle with her husband and expecting her first child. She shares posts, links and photos about fashion, style, beauty products, interior décor, even etiquette.

In every photo the lighting is beautiful, every lipstick shade just works, every outfit comfortable yet stylish. She’s like the cool girl who’s nice to everyone at school and you get to be a little bit cooler just by hanging out with her and learning from the tricks she’s always willing to share. Although one of her pet peeves is chipped nail polish, so I doubt she and I would ever become close friends since that’s something I’m too often guilty of. I don’t like chipped nail polish either but…it just happens sometimes. Which is one of the many reasons why I could never have a blog like Cupcakes and Cashmere.

But to elevate the every day? Fortunately that can come from inhaling the fresh lemony scent of dishwashing liquid while noticing the way the sunlight gleams on the plate as I rinse it under the faucet; smiling at the delicate floral pattern of our everyday china that I picked out for our wedding because I STILL think it’s SO beautiful. Or setting the patio table for dinner outdoors with cheerful plastic plates etched with bold red flowers and yellow butterflies. Or making my husband’s birthday cake from scratch even though the last time I baked a cake I was helping my mom in the kitchen at the age of about ten.

We all have our own little way.

