Tags

, , , , , , , ,

An open lap top.  A one word prompt from Word Press:  OPEN.   A thought:  am I open to blogging again? It’s been so long.  After all, here I am in my kitchen with two halves of a sliced open watermelon that have been fleshed out to make watermelon basil popsicles. And my open calendar/day planner is full of all the activities and projects and recipes that I was not able to get to during the school year.  I’ve got less than two months left now, how did that happen?

I muddle 1 cup of fresh basil leaves in hot water for my popsicles and muddle the word in my head: OPEN. Muddle the thought of going through that blogging door that was left OPEN.  A sign, perhaps?  Now I have to let the basil leaves cool completely before blending them with the 2 1/2 cups of cubed watermelon and 2 tbsp. of fresh lime juice. Then they will be ready to pour into the popsicle molds and popped into the freezer.

Lunch? Probably should. I open an avocado and while slicing  its green flesh into pieces, somehow slice open my thumb. Okay, that was an exaggeration for the purposes of this prompt.  But I did knick my skin with the knife.

I almost give myself a headache trying to open a bottle of Naked Green Machine 100% juice smoothie. “OPEN, DAMMIT!” Don’t know if it’s my pleading or my strength but the top does in fact, finally, open.  I drink the green juice, eat the green avocado on toast, and marvel at all of the other lovely shades of green: watermelon rind, fresh basil, palm fronds on the window valances, grape leaves on the dish towel.    The popsicle molds are in the dish drainer, open and waiting.  Let’s see what takes shape.

Watermelon Basil Popsicle recipe courtesy of savorylotus.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

